Styling Saturday: The Geometric Sock of Improvement

615PdegmiML._AC_UL200_SR160,200_

At their best, men’s clothes have advantages over women’s—admittedly with grave exceptions. To my mind, good men’s clothes are structured rather than droopy. (The unfortunate trend among young men lately of wearing sweatpants with ankle cuffs is probably caused by a huge bribe to fashion designers from the Center for Population Control. Even my eighty-year-old father knows better than to wear pants like that.)

Another thing I like is that the colors are generally less saturated and more muted (think of a standard box of eight Crayola crayons. Add pale grey to each color). Such shades are kinder for my Celtic/Polish complexion and I find them much more restful most of the time.

The last advantage is the patterns, which are often calmer. If there are flowers, they are either on tropical shirts and the particular type of flower is recognizable, or the flowers are tiny, almost like irregular polka dots from a distance. None of this Women’s Section Let’s add flowers! And paisleys! To the same shirt! And matching skirt/jacket/pants! And you are much more likely to see geometric patterns as well.

But up until recently, it would never have occurred to me to attempt to shop in the men’s section (although in high school I bought my sneakers and Oxford bucks in the boy’s section; the sizes were better). But I recently bought some shirts in three different stores in the men’s section, to replace a bunch of shirts that I got rid of a while back because they either were too small or had been worn to rags.

And all these advantages in clothes even pertain to socks, which is good because the vast majority of my socks are fairly boring. And if I am going to be playing dodgeball once a month in my socks from now on, I am totally going to require New & Improved Sockage.

 

2 thoughts on “Styling Saturday: The Geometric Sock of Improvement

  1. Jamie Ray April 24, 2016 / 5:06 pm

    I find no one minds if you shop in the men’s section in a “coed” store – but it takes a lot of strength to shop in a genuine men’s shop and try things on. They are just shirts – it not like they have genitals, but some sales help really don’t like it when you go to try stuff on in the men’s fitting room.

    Like

    • writerspilecki April 24, 2016 / 5:16 pm

      I went to Marshalls and the woman presiding at the desk between the two fitting rooms said, “Women to the left, men to the right.” I just grinned and said, “Thank you!” I was wearing a fedora and no earrings that day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

