O! The Hypocrisy!

images

No, alas, I am not talking about our dreadful election year. I am speaking of myself. I was on the train this morning and I saw a tall, thin young man with a beard and hair down past his shoulders. I immediately thought that if I saw him from behind I would assume he was a woman–the reverse of what happens to me at least once every week or two. I wondered what the appeal of long hair was. Part of this is because I had long hair for a bout a year or two and it was a Total Pain to take care of and you shed everywhere. I thought he would look better with a shorter haircut.

All of these thoughts probably took no more than a minute. Then I caught myself.

Argh! Argh! Argh!

So apparently, although I say I like androgyny, what I really like is for everyone to look masculine? How torqued is that? Does this mean I am walking around mindlessly privileging the masculine over the feminine? Bad feminist! Go stand in the corner!

2 thoughts on “O! The Hypocrisy!

  1. The bisexual butch March 19, 2016 / 9:23 am

    No, I think you are just leaving personal preference and attraction out of your equation.

    Am I a bad feminist because I am attracted to men and butch women? No, that’s just my personal preference. It does not make me a femme hater or misogynist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

